

McGILL UNIVERSITY SENATE Nominating Committee REPORT ON APPOINTMENTS

D14-44

Meeting of February 25, 2015 at 9:00 a.m. James Administration Building, Room 302

- Present: Anthony C. Masi (Chair), Rosemary Cookleasad J. Damha, Antonia Di Paola, John Galaty, Martin Grant, Martin Kiswirth, Maya Kucij, Ruth Kuzaitis, Christopher Manfredi, Gillian Lane-Mercjetennifer Murray Jim Nicell, Alenoush Saroyan and Claire Stevtrat anigan, Morty Yalovsky.
- Regrets: David Eidelman, Sean Ferguson, Jacquertubise, Chandra Madramootoo.

Note to Senators:

- x Section 1 presents recommendations for ap**preints** to Committees Arising out of the University Regulations by the Nominagi Committee for Senate's approval. The names shown indicate the membership of the Pool or Committee membership that would result from Senate's approval, with new members underlined.
- x Section 2 contains recommendations regarding ppsed revisions to the terms of reference of the Senate Steering Committee for Senate's approval. It also contains proposed procedural changes concerning the Academilic Committee for Senter's information.

1. FOR THE APPROVAL OF SENATE

- 1.1 APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES ARISING OUT OF UNIVERSITY REGULATIONS
- 1.1.1 University Tenure Committees (Senate Pool)

RECOMMENDATION

Approve the appointment of Professors Michagladi (Bioresource Engineering, AES), Peter Chauvin (DENTISTRY), PetralSweinhardt (DENTISTRY), Laußstone (DENTISTRY), Simon Tran (DENTISTRY), Teresa Strong-Wilson (gnaded Studies in Education, EDUCATION), Shaheen Shariff (Integrated Studies in EducatieDUCATION), KristaMuis (Educational and Counselling Psychology, EDUCATION), Azi2houdry (Integrated Studies in Education, EDUCATION), Bronwen Low (Integrated Stessi in Education, EDUCATION), Dennis Giannacopoulos (Electrical and Computer Engening, ENGINEERING), Yaëll Emerich (LAW), Frédéric Mégret (LAW), Lisa Barg (Music Research, MUSIC), Philippe Depalle (Music Research, MUSIC), Michael McMahon (Music Performance, MUSIC), Philippe Depalle (Music Research, MUSIC), Joelle Pineau (Computer Science) (ESNCCE), Gregor Fussman (Biology, SCIENCE) to the University Tenure Committee Senate portafterm beginning May 1, 2015 and ending April 30, 2018.

UTC Senate Pool Membership

The names shown below indicate the membershiphe Pool that would result from Senate's approval, with new members underlined.

AES	
Terry Wheeler	2016
Benoit Côté	2016
Armando Jardim	2016
Benjamin Simpson	2016
Chris Buddle	2016
Marcia Waterway	2016
Grace Marquis	2016
Tim Johns	2016
<u>Michael Ngadi</u>	<u>201</u> 8
ARTS	
Jamshid Beheshti	2016
Lisa Travis	2016
Stefan Sinclair	2016
Myriam Denov	2016
Jacob Levy	2016
Elaine Weiner	2016
Ronald Niezen	2016
Fernanda Macchi	2017
Erik Kuhonta	2017

DENTISTRY (6 representatives required)

Hervé Le Moual	2016
Jocelyn Feine	2016
Peter Chauvin	<u>20</u> 18
Petra Schweinhardt	<u>20</u> 18
Laura Stone	<u>20</u> 18
Simon Tran	<u>201</u> 8

EDUCATION (9 representatives required)

Nancy Heath	2016
Teresa Strong-Wilson	<u>20</u> 18
Shaheen Shariff	<u>20</u> 18
Krista Muis	<u>201</u> 8
Aziz Choudry	<u>201</u> 8
Bronwen Low	<u>201</u> 8
TBD	2018
TBD	2018
TBD	2018

ENGINEERING

Evgeny Tomofeev	2016
Frank Mucciardi	2016
Yixin Shao	2016
Zeljko Zilic	2016
Milan Maric	2016
David Frost	2016
Avi Friedman	2016
Milica Popovich	2017
Dennis Giannacopoulos	<u>20</u> 18

LAW

René Provost	2016
Richard Janda	2016
Margaret Sommerville	2016
Payam Akhavan	2017
Yaëll Emerich	<u>201</u> 8
Frédéric Mégret	<u>20</u> 18

MANAGEMENT

Alfred Jaeger	2016
Francesca Carrieri	<u> 20</u> 18
<u>Ruslan Goyenko</u>	<u>20</u> 18
Kunsoo Han	<u>201</u> 8
Liette Lapointe	<u>201</u> 8
Saurabh Mishra	<u>20</u> 18
Ashesh Mukerjee	<u>20</u> 18
Corey Phelps	<u>20</u> 18
Omar Toulan	<u>201</u> 8

MEDICINE

Deborah Da Costa	2016
Louis Collins	2016
Carmen Loiselle	2016
Marina Klein	2016
Anne-Marie Lauzon	2016
Jan Seuntjens	2016
Jay Nadeau	2016
Mark Goldberg	2016
Elizabeth Fixman	2016

MUSIC (9 representatives	s required)
Douglas McNabney	2016
Tom Beghin	2016
Roe-MinKok	2017
<u>Lisa Barg</u>	<u>201</u> 8
Martha De Francisco	<u>20</u> 18
Michael McMahon	<u>201</u> 8
Philippe Depalle	<u>201</u> 8
Peter Schubert	<u>20</u> 18
Kevin Dean	<u>201</u> 8

SCIENCE

0.2.102	
Theo van de Ven	2016
Gonzalo Cosa	2016
Wayne Pollard	2016
Laura Nilson	2016
Prakash Panagaden	2017
David Stephens	2017
Gregory Brown	2017
Joelle Pineau	<u>20</u> 18
Gregor Fussman	<u>20</u> 18

1.1.2 University Appeals Committee

RECOMMENDATION

2. FOR THE APPROVAL OF SENATE

On April 23, 2014, Senate approved the recommemodationtained in the final report of the Ad Hoc Committee on the Enhancement of SenMeetings (the report available online: http://www.mcgill.ca/senate/archives/stemaneeting-document2913-2014/april-23-2014 Further to the recommendations contained in the reploset, Senate Nominating Committee was tasked with reviewing, and recommending to rate, possible revisions to the terms of reference of the Academic Policy Committee (APC) at the Senate Steering Committee. To initiate this process, the Academic Policy and the Senate Steering Committee a review of their own terms of reference; the results of these reviews ware mitted to the Senate Nominating Committee for consideration.

STEERING COMMITTEE

The Senate Steering Committee is a Standing Committee of Senate charged with proposing Senate agendation and routine business matters.

SPECIFIC AREAS OF RESPONSIBILITY

The Committee shall:

- 1. Meet <u>approximately</u> one week prior to every Senate meeting.
- Review the Senate calendar of business including any follow up on matters arising from decisions and discussion at Senate. The Secretary-General provide a verbal report to the Steering Committee on follow-up from Senate decisions/discussion at each meeting.

6.1 In reviewing written questions, the Steering Committee may:

a)